HE CONNECTS THE 2 POLES ALONE ON ITS SAILBOAT WITH A LAYING HEN :
FIND OUT WHAT YOU HAVE IN COMMON WITH HIM

You're there alone, sitting on your boat. Looking into the white of the ice that traps your boat in the middle of a cold desert.

The wind has fallen, your hands are frozen, and your feet...you have to take a look to make sure they're still hanging from your ankles. You're shaking a little, you're letting go.

 

You look at the sun setting over the frosty horizon and think about your family that you haven't seen or heard in months. You miss them so much... As the tears crystallize at the edge of your eyes and you feel a sob rise up inside you, a chicken passes before your eyes. 

So you smile and think that tomorrow will be better.

POULE.png

GUIREC AND MONIQUE

​HE STARTS BY PRETENDING TO BE AN EXPERT...

Imagine a man about to buy a cruising sailboat for 40 000€ when he doesn't have that money, knows nothing about it and is only 20 years old. Of course he knows about windsurfing, the optimist. But sailing boats, he doesn't.

 

So he plays the sailor, pointing out deficiencies in order to bring down the price and give the impression of being an experienced sailor. It's working! He's going back up the boat with three friends, from Martigues to Bretagne.

 

But the weather isn't in their favour and on top of that the boat is sinking. They're going to sink! So they landed in Spain, went home and Guirec, who had no money left in his pocket, went back to work to pay for the repairs to come.

Five months later, he goes back to sea with a friend to bring his boat back from Spain. They are shaken in the Bay of Biscay with 6-metre waves.Then came battery problems, no GPS and no more motor... That night, fear invaded the boat.
But here they are, at last, in Yvinek, the island of their childhood.

 

That's where he fell in love with the sea.
 

...HE'S GOT TROUBLES AND HIDE SECRETS FROM HIS FAMILY...

His intentions was to repair some problems on the boat during the summer and set sail. But repeated complications pushed his departure into the cold of November. Then he set sail in rather surprising conditions : the day before, he realised that his boat was completely eaten away by rust.

 

As soon as he tried to deal with this problem, the boat leaked, water gushed everywhere. So a real sailor advises him to completely repair his boat. But at 20, who's reasonable enough ?

Besides, he hasn't really warned his family of his real ambition. They think their son is going to cross the Atlantic, and it's already giving them goose bumps. But in reality, the young sailor wants to get to the top of the world, where very few men have passed through; the North-West passage, single-handed and unassisted... on a sieve.


After a false start due to the engine failing and the automatic pilot. He leaves, alone.

Alone? Not quite really. When he arrives at the Canaries, where he will start the long crossing, he decides to adopt a laying hen. He thinks it's a good thing to have fresh eggs on board and also, it makes for company.
That's when Monique embarks on the longest crossing of her life. 

 

pouleé.png
compass.png

... YET, AT 24, HE IS THE YOUNGEST SAILOR TO HAVE CONNECTED THE 2 POLES TO SAILING !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                        The exploits of this young sailor, who finds himself 130 days stuck in the ice of the North Pole, and of the hen who has accompanied him on all his crossings, are all around the world. At the age of 24, Guirec became the youngest sailor in the world to cross the Perilous North-West Passage single-handed. Here is a map of his routes.

guirec.png

ILS NOUS INSPIRENT

Découvre un autre récit d'explorateur

TA VOIX DANS NOS TITRES

ENVOI TON ENREGISTREMENT

"I'm not a scientist, but I testify to what I see."

Today Guirec offers us conferences, he wishes to share his thirst for adventure, to transmit his optimism and the notion of surpassing oneself, as well as to make the greatest number of people aware of the environmental issue.


The Ocean is very much impacted by human activities and the two adventurers have been able to realize this on many occasions. Here is an interview of Guirec :

"In Greenland, there are glaciers that existed on my map that had disappeared. I also saw huge blocks of ice drifting off Cape Horn, hundreds of kilometres from the pack ice. Or the pollution of the seas with our plastics. It's all very scary,". Always cheerful, he ends on a hopeful note. "I'm not a scientist, but I testify to what I see.

 

And I have the impression that the children I meet have understood the importance of preserving the planet. And it belongs to them."

Their travels fascinate us and inspire us with great respect for the environment in which they grow up.
 

GUIRECC.png

THEY INSPIRE US

Find out what you have in common with
another explorer's tale

YOUR VOICE IN OUR MUSIC

SEND YOUR RECORDING

.

.

.
Un sourire plus "vert" - Caliquo

Un sourire plus "vert" - Caliquo

02:20
Play Video
Complètement perché en France !

Complètement perché en France !

08:56
Play Video
Les anges des océans et le Kraken

Les anges des océans et le Kraken

01:43
Play Video
Baret Explorers - Freyja - Overshoot day

Baret Explorers - Freyja - Overshoot day

03:22
Play Video

PHOTOS

IL SE RETROUVE SEUL SUR SON VOILIER AVEC UNE POULE PONDEUSE : TROUVE TON POINT COMMUN AVEC LUI

Tu es là seul, assis sur ton bateau. Le regard plongé dans le blanc de la glace qui emprisonne ton embarcation au beau milieu d’un désert de froid.

 

Le vent est tombé, tes mains sont gelées, et tes pieds…tu dois jeter un coup d’œil pour t’assurer qu’ils sont toujours accrochés à tes chevilles. Tu trembles un peu, tu te laisses aller. Tu regardes le soleil qui se couche sur l’horizon givré et tu penses à ta famille que tu n’as pas vu ni entendu depuis des mois et qui te manque, tellement…


Alors que les larmes se cristallisent au bord de tes yeux et que tu sens un sanglot monter en toi, une poule passe sous tes yeux. Alors tu souris et tu te dis que demain sera meilleur.

GUIREC ET MONIQUE

IL COMMENCE PAR FAIRE SEMBLANT DE S'Y CONNAITRE...

Imaginez un homme sur le point d’acheter un bateau à voiles de croisière à 40 000€ alors qu’il n’a pas cette somme, qu’il n’y connaît rien et qu’il n’a que 20 ans. Bien sûr la planche à voile, l'optimiste, ça il connaît. Mais les voiliers, non.

 

Alors il joue les matelots en pointant du doigt des défauts pour faire tomber le prix et donner l’impression d’être un navigateur aguerri et expérimenté. Ca marche… ! Il remonte le bateau avec trois copains, de Martigues jusqu’en Bretagne.

 

Mais le temps n’est pas en leur faveur et en plus, le bateau prend l’eau. Ils vont couler ! Alors ils accostent en Espagne, repartent chez eux et Guirec, qui n’a plus un sous en poche, retourne travailler pour assumer les réparations à venir.

 

Cinq mois plus tard, il retourne en mer avec un ami pour ramener son bateau d’Espagne. Ils se font secouer dans le Golf de Gascogne avec des creux de 6 mètres. Et puis des problèmes de batteries, plus de GPS et plus de moteur… Cette nuit-là, la peur a envahi le bateau.

Mais les voilà enfin arrivés à Yvinek, l’île de leur enfance. C’est là-bas qu’il est tombé amoureux de la mer.

… IL CUMULE LES PROBLÈMES ET NE DÉVOILE RIEN À SA FAMILLE...

Son objectif était de réparer quelques problèmes sur le bateau pendant l’été et de mettre les voiles. Mais des complications à répétition poussent son départ jusque dans le froid de Novembre. Alors il prend la mer dans des conditions plutôt surprenantes : la veille, il se rend compte que son bateau est complètement rongé par la rouille.

 

Dès qu’il essaye de traiter ce problème, le bateau fuit, l’eau jaillit de partout. Alors un marin, un vrai, lui conseille de retaper entièrement son embarcation. Mais à 20 ans, qui est assez raisonnable… ?

 

D’ailleurs, il n’a pas vraiment prévenu sa famille de sa réelle ambition. Ils pensent que leur fils va traverser l’Atlantique, et ça leur donne déjà la chair de poule. Mais en réalité, le jeune navigateur veut aller au sommet du monde, là où très peu d’Hommes sont passés ; le passage du Nord-ouest, en solitaire et sans assistance… sur une passoire.


 

Après un faux départ à cause du moteur qui lâche et du pilote automatique. Il part, seul.

 

Seul ? Pas tout à fait. Arrivé aux Canaris, là où il démarrera la grande traversée, il se décide à adopter une poule pondeuse. Il se dit que c’est une bonne chose d’avoir des œufs frais à bord et aussi, ça fait de la compagnie. C’est alors que Monique embarque pour la plus grande traversée de sa vie. 

... POURTANT À 24 ANS IL EST LE PLUS JEUNE NAVIGATEUR À AVOIR RELIER LES DEUX POLES À LA VOILE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                        Les exploits de ce jeune navigateur qui se retrouve 130 jours coincé dans les glaces du pôle Nord, et de la poule qui l’a accompagné dans toutes ses traversées fait le tour du monde. À 24 ans, Guirec devient le plus jeune navigateur du monde à traverser le Périlleux Passage du Nord Ouest en solitaire.

ILS NOUS INSPIRENT

Découvre un autre récit d'explorateur

TA VOIX DANS NOS TITRES

ENVOI TON ENREGISTREMENT

“Je ne suis pas scientifique, mais je témoigne de ce que je vois.”

Aujourd’hui Guirec nous offre des conférence, il souhaite partager sa soif d’aventure, transmettre son optimisme et la notion de surpassement de soi, ainsi que sensibiliser le plus grand nombre à la question de l’environnement.

L’Océan est très impacté par les activités humaines et les deux aventuriers ont pu le réaliser à de nombreuses reprises. Voici un extrait d’une interview de Guirec avec 20 Minutes :

 

« Au Groenland, il y a des glaciers qui existaient sur ma carte qui avaient disparu. J’ai aussi vu des immenses blocs de glace dériver au large du Cap Horn, à des centaines de kilomètres de la banquise. Ou la pollution des mers avec nos plastiques. Tout ça fait flipper», reconnaît Guirec.

 

Toujours enjoué, il termine sur une note d’espoir. « Je ne suis pas scientifique, mais je témoigne de ce que je vois. Et j’ai l’impression que les enfants que je rencontre ont compris l’importance de la préservation de la planète ». Et c’est à eux qu’elle appartient.

 

Leurs voyages nous fascinent et nous inspirent beaucoup de respect pour l’environnement dans lequel ils évoluent.

ILS NOUS INSPIRENT

Découvre un autre récit d'explorateur

TA VOIX DANS NOS TITRES

ENVOI TON ENREGISTREMENT

PHOTOS

  • Facebook Baret Explorers
  • Youtube Baret Explorers
  • Instagram Baret Explorers
  • Twitter Baret Explorers

REJOINS BARET EXPLORERS

© Baret Explorers 2020 - PRESS KIT - Politique de confidentialité et mentions légales

logo Baret Explorers Compass.png
  • Baret Explorers Spotify
  • Baret Explorers Deezer
  • baret explorers itunes apple
  • Baret Explorers Amazon music
  • Baret explorers Google music