SHE CLIMBS A 6000 METERS CLIFF :
FIND OUT WHAT YOU HAVE IN COMMON WITH HER

Hang on, squeeze your fingers! Careful, your foot isn't well placed... Raise your head slowly and look where your next catch is. There, next to the grass that split the rock. Bring your body closer to the wall. Your arms are stuck and your legs are shaking.

 

Concentrate, there's no way you're going to fall. Push on your thighs, stretch out your hand, pull yourself up now! That's it, you're there, at the top of your rock. The view is beautiful, the wind caresses your cheeks, your heart slows down and a smile comes over your face without asking your permission. You are alive.

STEH.png

STEPHANIE BODET

ASTHMATIC, SHE STARTS WITHOUT KNOWING HOW TO BREATHE...

There is an age when everything is accessible, when everything seems simple. This is the age when our responsibility was simply to choose the right notebooks and the right colour of the pens.

 

And on weekends... we could go for walks with the family. For some, it was a good idea to climb tree branches as quickly as possible, jump from rock to rock before scratching their knees and galloping off to the next obstacle.

 

And becoming a climber is just around the corner for those who let the passion set their hearts on fire. Climb higher, always faster! And here, we tell ourselves that the competitions follow one another naturally and voilà, the world championship is won! But for the young Stéphanie Bodet, she had to take a different path. 


The very young girl can't even breathe properly. She suffers from asthma and the smallest stride makes her lungs whistle and inflame. She also has severe allergies. But the little girl is a dreamer.

 

Her passion for climbing possesses her. So she learns, slowly but tirelessly, how to manage her breath, how to apprehend the effort and how to overcome her handicap. When you are a child, it is difficult to concentrate for long periods of time, to persevere in spite of suffering. Yet here she is trying, persevering, and healing. 

... AND YET THE WORLD BECOMES HER PLAYGROUND

Painful training pays off and medals are more and more accessible, always more golden. She meets love, Arnaud Petit, also a multi-medal climber. She follows a competitive way for a while at his side.

 

But she quickly realizes that her place is not quite there. She dreams of another way of life. So after winning the climbing world championship, she sets off to climb the world with her companion, where she'll have some great premieres along the way.

 

Tsaranoro (Madagascar), Tours de Trango (Pakistan), Salto Ángel (Venezuela), El Capitan (Yosemite, USA), Grand Capucin (Mont Blanc massif)... No mineral wall can resist her. Their lives have taken the shape of their dreams.

 

She says, "I loved doing these paths, feeling the telluric forces, being connected to geological times, to something bigger than myself. In those moments, you forget yourself as a human being and become part of nature."
 
From Pakistan to the United States, through Morocco and Patagonia, Stéphanie Bodet travels the Planet in search of the most breathtaking rocky routes. Stéphanie inspires the world with her vision of life. She shares it with us in her remarkable book "À la verticale de soi"  published in 2016.

 

Her physical prowess inspires admiration, but I invite you to read her books because they inspire us to humility and an incredible sense of pure freedom.

                        Here is how Stéphanie defines her discipline: ""I practice free climbing, that is to say, I climb only with the holds that the rock offers. I mostly climb big walls, which take several days to climb."
 
During its ascent, she delights in the scents of the plants that flower through the mineral. She observes and contemplates the impressive nature that surrounds her. Once at the top, the climber opens a book or a collection of poems. There she devours the pages of her favourite authors.

 

And at the top of these rocks, she starts to write. She's a lover of words. Her own books like "Habiter le monde" make this outstanding athlete into a novelist. After winning so many prizes through competition, she returns to nature and the essential.

compass.png
STEPH.png

THEY INSPIRE US

Find out what you have in common with
another explorer's tale

YOUR VOICE IN OUR MUSIC

SEND YOUR RECORDING

.

.

.
Un sourire plus "vert" - Caliquo

Un sourire plus "vert" - Caliquo

02:20
Play Video
Complètement perché en France !

Complètement perché en France !

08:56
Play Video
Les anges des océans et le Kraken

Les anges des océans et le Kraken

01:43
Play Video
Baret Explorers - Freyja - Overshoot day

Baret Explorers - Freyja - Overshoot day

03:22
Play Video

PHOTOS

ELLE ESCALADE UNE PAROI DE 6 000 METRES:
TROUVE TON POINT COMMUN AVEC ELLE

Accroche-toi, sers les doigts ! Attention, ton pied n’est pas bien posé.... Lève la tête doucement et regarde où se trouve ta prochaine prise. Là, à côté de l’herbe qui a fendue la roche. Rapproche ton corps de la paroi. Les bras se tétanisent et les jambes tremblent. Concentre-toi, la chute n’est pas envisageable. Pousse sur les cuisses, tends la main, hisse-toi maintenant ! C’est bon, tu y es, au sommet de ton rocher. La vue est magnifique, le vent caresse tes joues, ton cœur ralentit et un sourire s’installe sur ton visage sans te demander la permission. Tu es vivant.

STEPHANIE BODET

ASTHMATIQUE, ELLE DÉMARRE SANS SAVOIR RESPIRER...

Il y a un âge où tout est accessible, où tout paraît simple. Il s’agit de l’époque où notre responsabilité se résumait à bien choisir ses cahiers de classes et la couleur des stylos à utiliser. Et le week-end… On pouvait se balader en famille.

 

Pour certains, il était bon de grimper le plus vite possible dans les branches des arbres, sauter de rochers en rochers avant de s'égratigner les genoux et repartir au galop vers les prochains obstacles à franchir. Et devenir grimpeur est à portée de bras pour ceux qui laisse la passion embraser leur cœur.

 

Grimper plus haut, toujours plus vite ! Et là, on se dit que les compétitions s'enchaînent naturellement et voilà, le championnat du monde est remporté ! Mais pour la jeune Stéphanie Bodet, il a fallu emprunter une autre voie. 

La très jeune fille ne parvient même pas à respirer correctement. Elle est atteinte d’asthme et la moindre foulée fait siffler ses poumons qui s’enflamment. Elle est aussi en proie à de lourdes allergies. Mais la petite fille est rêveuse.

 

Sa passion pour l’escalade la possède. Alors elle apprend, doucement, mais sans relâche, à gérer son souffle, à appréhender l’effort et à surmonter son handicap. Quand on est enfant, il est difficile de se concentrer longtemps, de persévérer malgré la souffrance. Pourtant la voilà qui essaye, qui persévère, et qui guérit.

… ET POURTANT, LE MONDE DEVIENT SON TERRAIN DE JEU

Les entraînements douloureux payent et les médailles sont de plus en plus accessibles, toujours plus dorées. Elle rencontre l’amour, Arnaud Petit, lui aussi un grimpeur multi-médaillé. Elle suit une voie de compétition pendant quelque temps à ses côtés.

 

Mais elle se rend rapidement compte que sa place n’est pas tout à fait là. Elle rêve d’un autre mode de vie. Alors après avoir remporté le championnat du monde d’escalade, elle part crapahuter le monde avec son compagnon où elle enchaînera au passage quelque grandes premières. Tsaranoro (Madagascar), Tours de Trango (Pakistan), Salto Ángel (Venezuela), El Capitan (Yosemite, Etats-Unis), Grand Capucin (massif du mont-blanc)…

 

Aucune paroi minérale ne leur résiste. Leur vie a pris la tournure de leurs rêves. Elle raconte « J’ai adoré faire ces voies, sentir les forces telluriques, être reliée aux temps géologiques, à quelque chose qui est plus grand que soi. Dans ces moments, on s’oublie en tant qu’humain pour faire partie de la nature.»

 

Du Pakistan aux États-Unis, en passant par le Maroc et la Patagonie, Stéphanie Bodet parcourt la Planète à la recherche de voies rocheuses les plus vertigineuses.

 

Stéphanie inspire le monde avec sa vision de la vie qu’elle nous partage dans son livre remarquable “ À la verticale de soi” qu’elle publie en 2016. Sa prouesse physique nous pousse à l’admiration, mais je t’invite à lire ses ouvrages, et car ils nous poussent à l’humilité et à l’incroyable sentiment de liberté pur.

                       Voici comment Stéphanie définie sa discipline "Je pratique l’escalade libre, c’est-à-dire que je grimpe seulement avec les prises qu’offre le rocher. Je gravis surtout des grandes parois (big walls), dont l’ascension nécessite plusieurs journées."

 

Pendant son ascension, elle se délecte des parfums des plantes qui fleurissent à travers le minéral. Elle observe et contemple la nature impressionnante qui l’entoure. Arrivée en haut, la grimpeuse ouvre un livre ou un recueil de poèmes.

 

C’est là qu’elle dévore les pages des auteurs qu’elle préfère. Et tout en haut de ces rochers, elle se met à écrire.

C’est une amoureuse des mots et ses propres livres comme “Habiter le monde” ou encore “A la verticale de soi” font passer cette athlète hors pair à romancière. Après avoir remporté tant de prix à travers la compétition, elle retourne à la nature et à l’essentiel.

ILS NOUS INSPIRENT

Découvre un autre récit d'explorateur

TA VOIX DANS NOS TITRES

ENVOI TON ENREGISTREMENT

PHOTOS

  • Facebook Baret Explorers
  • Youtube Baret Explorers
  • Instagram Baret Explorers
  • Twitter Baret Explorers

REJOINS BARET EXPLORERS

© Baret Explorers 2020 - PRESS KIT - Politique de confidentialité et mentions légales

logo Baret Explorers Compass.png
  • Baret Explorers Spotify
  • Baret Explorers Deezer
  • baret explorers itunes apple
  • Baret Explorers Amazon music
  • Baret explorers Google music